2006-10-08
11:53 a.m.

parallel gun jumping

This entry is true, but so freakingly uncanny to what's up at the moment with me and Tanner I have to share it. In it, I'm still me, and Tanner's more or less in the role of my brother.

---

I got a call from my little brother late last night. He was all giddy with endorphins and was calling to ask if I'd be able to make it to his wedding in late December. There was dead silence on my end of the phone as a billion things raced through my head. I was a tad embarrassed at my quiet and felt like a heel, but I really had nothing to say. After a bit he asked if I were still there. I said, yea, and that I was really knackered and had just gone to bed, and could I call him in the morning. It was true, but I also knew people in that state are deaf as posts and can turn mean on a dime if you don't tell them what they want to hear.

He didn't call me for advice. He called to announce. The news was no surprise -- I had predicted it this past summer -- and I had dreaded to hear it pronounced. He's set himself up again. It's plain as day, I care deeply about him, but there he goes off to play in traffic again. It's not the fact of the wedding, it's, well, for lack of a better word, the timeline.

In late June his second divorce came through. She had just upped and left him. He come home one day and she and most of her things were gone, all without warning. Everything seemed to have been going fine, then bam! He got the silent treatment from her or hostility. She had been a rebound marriage.

Then in late July he met this girl. Younger than him and with two kids. (He also has one by his first wife.) Her divorced was finalized in May.

Then in late August, after a couple dates, they declared themselves a couple and she and her kids moved in with him.

Then this weekend they got formally engaged. It seems she had already had the wedding planned for at least a couple weeks. It will be in December. If there's a surprise it's that it isn't next month or that they hadn't just eloped this weekend and he was calling me in the trippiness of mid-debauch. Another concern is that he's been riding without a helmet. Making a baby with his first wife didn't keep them together.

So what's up with this and what's to say? I certainly haven't met her yet. The whole thing reeks of rebound -- double rebound! It's not a matter of any pussy will do, or pussy on demand must be obtained. For him, and it seems even more so for her, it's a matter of a desperate need to be 'in a relationship' and then some. To dig deeper, it's a matter of self-identification, and the more publicly 'committed' it is the better.

I ought to call Ma and talk to her first before calling him. I can hear her telling him that there's no need to buy the cow if you can get the milk for free. But he's also 'the baby' and time and time again I and my sisters have seen him getting away with, even praised and supported for shit that they and I would have been picking our teeth out of our ass for.

It's also been a full moon this weekend. All kinds of crazy shit can happen with certain people.

Life can be such an adventure.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

new | last | next | archive | profile | cast
email | guestbook | notes | host | rings

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have any comments you'd like to share?
[So far 1 smart ass remarks have been made.]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

encroaching increase of darkness - 2008-11-02

Bones - 2008-09-20

random bitchings and musings - 2008-07-09

Man with Huge Cock - 2008-07-04

Eric and other crazy shit - 2008-06-29

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thinkin' 'bout: getting my life back and piss on everyone else (yea, right)

Dog(s) keeping me company: T

Current read: OT: Esther