2006-12-24
4:18 p.m.

stalemate 2

Well, I waited and didn't react to his text immediately so I'd have time to mull and follow oracular instructions. Second consultation said BETTER NOT TELL YOU NOW. I waited a couple days -- three chances is my oracle limit.

Rather than some e-contact -- Brian's preferred mode of communication when he actually deigns to communicate -- ah! how hiding behind a keyboard is so convenient to cowards! -- I called him. He answered immediately like his phone was on fire. My name turned up and I was priority. I know how he is with his phone and screening and such.

HEY!

Gotta minute?

For you, Babe, I've got an hour.

This time you'll be leaving cash on the dresser for that hour of my time.

Hehehehe... so what's up?

That was my question. You texted me.

I'd like some time.

Apparently I was supposed to jump at this request as I used to do. I didn't. I let there be dead air. His next move was to toss out another chunk of bait, something he thought I'd want/like.

We have... uncomf... unpleas... diffic... uh... wrinkles to iron out.

Yea, we do. So shoot. I have time right now.

Um... I'd rather have some open-ended face-time together, you know, in person, in private.

You asked for that 2 months ago then stood me up without a word. I scheduled around making time for you. (a white lie, I hadn't, but it sounded good to say)

I could sense him looking down at his shoes. He quietly said, This time I promise I'll be there. Last time I got nervous and ashamed and such. You say when, and if I already have plans then I'll cancel. This is important.

Well, I'm on the loose all day this Saturday. How about brunch downtown, say 10:30 at our place?, referring to a certain bar we always went to.

How about 10:30 at your place? I think it would be better if we spent some time alone, you know, in private without an audience. Besides, it could be awkward, there could be tears. Who knows what. So would that be OK? At the house? I'll get stuff at the store and we can cook together. I might be good to spend a little time getting comfortable around each other again be for launching into any heavy stuff.

Well, OK, but...

No no. I know what you like and I'll be coming. You can bank on it.

10:30 then.

There was one of those awkward pauses where neither wants to be the one to hang up first. I could tell he wanted to use the L word like we used to, but couldn't bring himself to say it. I admit I was kind of there myself. It was time to be decisive though, so I spoke and didn't wait for a response.

See ya. Bye.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

new | last | next | archive | profile | cast
email | guestbook | notes | host | rings

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have any comments you'd like to share?
[So far 0 smart ass remarks have been made.]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

encroaching increase of darkness - 2008-11-02

Bones - 2008-09-20

random bitchings and musings - 2008-07-09

Man with Huge Cock - 2008-07-04

Eric and other crazy shit - 2008-06-29

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thinkin' 'bout: writing the next part of this

Dog(s) keeping me company: T

Current read: Annales by Tacitus