2006-08-18
6:29 p.m.

stroke -- not of the sexy kind

I was chatting with Jeremy the other day when out of the blue a sudden, overwhelming feeling of dread and loss descended on me. He somehow sensed this sudden shift immediately and ask me what was the matter? Was it the situation with my bud? I basically told him that that was a chronic source of heartache... then just sort of blurted "Numa is dying." and looked around to see who had just said that.

If you haven't noticed, I'm more than attached to my boys. I was so upset I had to do something to distract myself, so I grabbed my camera and wandered around the house and yard taking pictures. When you peer through that little eyepiece things look different and I needed a perspective bitch slap. Anywho, I got a really cool, unposed shot of two of my boys. Numa looked happy enough...



Last night around 2 AM I heard him whimpering in the next room. When I arrived the whimpering stopped. He'd had a stroke. He was trying to get up, but pretty much his whole right side wasn't functioning. His head was drooped to the side and we held each other's eyes. There was so much fear and love and comfort in those big brown eyes. I'm sure he saw the same in mine. I went and got my pillow and slept on the floor with him for the rest of the night.

I use the word "slept" loosely. I dozed a lot. About every ten minutes I looked at him. He was always lying there on his side, eyes open, wide, and unblinking. I couldn't see his chest rising in breath, but I could feel the life in him still just by being near him.

Such a strange thing! Talk about a perspective bitch slap! I saw no signs of life. Didn't hear any either. (And no, I didn't touch, taste or sniff him.) But I knew, I just knew he was still alive! I also noticed that I was. I got bonked on the head with all kinds of new perspectives on all kinds of things.

By 7 AM he'd recovered enough to get his four on the floor, even if two of them wobbled. He was fine (-ish) for a couple hours. Then he fell. Today I fear I'm afraid I'm on a sort of death watch I'm afraid.

It's gonna be a long day.

-----

Epilogue: It's 6:30 PM now and he's more or less back to normal. -ish. He still walks like he shit his pants.

~Seth~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

new | last | next | archive | profile | cast
email | guestbook | notes | host | rings

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have any comments you'd like to share?
[So far 0 smart ass remarks have been made.]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

encroaching increase of darkness - 2008-11-02

Bones - 2008-09-20

random bitchings and musings - 2008-07-09

Man with Huge Cock - 2008-07-04

Eric and other crazy shit - 2008-06-29

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thinkin' 'bout: Numa - Jeremy - supper (sushi!)

Dog(s) keeping me company: Tarq

Current read: Old Testament -- 2 Kings