2004-04-20
10:33 a.m.

in the news

JWB had a letter to the editor in the paper today. It was all from his hiding place (i.e. Bible stuff) and in response to an article I had apparently missed entitled "Students Pack Altruism into Spring Break". In the article the writer wrote about local university students/student groups that spent their break doing volunteer work for homeless shelters, Habitat for Humanity, and such. There was also mention of a couple church groups that had gone to Mexico and Central America to visit missionary projects, including that PCA orphanage in Acapulco to which he had gone over his break. (I swear I wrote about this, but can't find the entry; otherwise I'd link to it.)

His response was vehement and overly defensive. His point was that his going on the church trip, the trip itself, and the orphanage have NOTHING to do with altruism. The sole point was to "spread the Gospel" and convert as many as possible to Calvinism.

What struck me was the clear distinction he hammered between altruism and his hateful, dismal brand of Christianity. The implication being, of course, that any ostensible service provided was nothing more that a lure.

The Biblical virtue of Matthew 28:19 (go convert anything that stands still long enough) far outweighs selflessness. The mission of PCA is to convert. Period.

Wasn't there a movie about that? "Invasion of the Body Snatchers"? Come to think of it, this is all viruses do. Replicate. Host be damned.

Significant to me is the emphasis in what he wrote. It was less conversion and more anti-altruism. This is totally in concert with the reason I wanted to break up with him, namely his self-centeredness. It looks like this is his nature. With me there was also compassion and thoughtfulness (which made me love him). Another conflict with his nature. Between that and his sexuality issues, no wonder he had a breakdown. This salvation of his justifies his nature.

My thinking that I could have nurtured the kind stuff shows my nature as well. And that's why this is important. He teaches me about me. I need to learn me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

new | last | next | archive | profile | cast
email | guestbook | notes | host | rings

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have any comments you'd like to share?
[So far 0 smart ass remarks have been made.]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

encroaching increase of darkness - 2008-11-02

Bones - 2008-09-20

random bitchings and musings - 2008-07-09

Man with Huge Cock - 2008-07-04

Eric and other crazy shit - 2008-06-29

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thinkin' 'bout: Sam Adams Light

Dog(s) keeping me company: drinking before work

Current read: 46