2004-05-23
2:58 p.m.

Greek (not Trojan) festival

As soon as I sent that entry off last night we went to the local Greek festival. Fun? Not so much, but pivotal for me. We were supposed to meet a few friends there, but never found them. We got there a little after 6 and searched for them until 8:30. It was in the church parking lot, which was on a slope. Not very big either. We wandered around separately but didn't see them. They mustn't, couldn't have been there.

Anyway, eventually I wandered into the agora (non-food vendor) tent. About the third stall in was silver jewelry. I stopped to look at the rings. Time for a new one. I wasn't there a minute before the woman who ran the shop came up to me. It was a very bizarre moment. She and I looked at each other and felt an immediate sort of connection. Barely a dozen words had been spoken before we each had that feeling of having known each other forever. Ever meet someone like that? Very spooky. So she asked what I was looking for and I told her.

Background for you guys: Back in late February (before last) Ryan and I exchanged rings. Very nice silver ones. We wore them on the ring fingers of our right hands. When I visited him in the hospital the day after he'd betrayed me (I still didn't know), he was still wearing mine. (WTF?) Well, a month later I lost his. About a month after that I found it, but then lost it again soon thereafter. I got on ebay and bought me two silver rings. One for the forefinger of my right hand that looked a lot like the one he'd given me, and one for my ring finger. I got one with a barbed wire design. Last night I decided it was time for the barbed wire one to be retired and a new one to take its place.

I told her all this. She shared as well, we commiserated, then went in search of the perfect replacement, and found it. It's beautiful. A slanted Greek key meander. It fits perfectly. Hefty too. She asked if I'd eaten. I said no because the lines were too long. She asked what I wanted, I told her dolmades. She asked how many. I handed her a tenner and said as many as she could get for it. I minded her booth and she returned with a dozen. And tell you what, they were the best damn dolmades I've ever had! I would have loved to have spent a weekend alone with them.

I meant to write a story, not what I just did. Oh well. As for the story, I'm conflicted. I want to continue about tasty Tony, but recent events make me want to write about JWB as well. For closure's sake, I might do the latter first. My diary, my call, right?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

new | last | next | archive | profile | cast
email | guestbook | notes | host | rings

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have any comments you'd like to share?
[So far 0 smart ass remarks have been made.]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

encroaching increase of darkness - 2008-11-02

Bones - 2008-09-20

random bitchings and musings - 2008-07-09

Man with Huge Cock - 2008-07-04

Eric and other crazy shit - 2008-06-29

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thinkin' 'bout: martini

Dog(s) keeping me company: the next 'story'

Current read: 3