2006-07-09
3:15 p.m.

kitchen drama

Or at least as much drama my kitchen could stand. It wasn't that dramatic, actually.

My new fab fridge didn't arrive on Thursday as I wanted it to. They bumped it to Friday, arrival window 12-2. Which usually means a call from the road, running late, yada yada. Come noon I decided it was time to empty the old one, and was about to get off my duff and do so when they pulled up. Panic! Just as I started emptying the old one -- after I discovered I had nothing to put all the stuff in -- my neighbors Sammi and Fred appeared at the kitchen door to help. Yeah! They started stuffing everything into a bag while I went to deal with the delivery dudes.

They were basically automatons. Both mid-20s. There was a black guy who looked like a street tuff, but when he opened his mouth nothing but butterflies flew out. Oy! Quelle queen! The other feller was white and, according to Fred, bore an uncanny resemblance to someone he really doesn't like to see around me, either out of envy or jealousy (i.e. Tanner). Dunno. Fred's pretty enamored of me, very protective, and quite the dreadnaught pitt-bull when provoked. (I also find him attractive, but that's another story!)

Well, in speaking to Miss BestBuy I said I'd like them to take the old fridge right next door (to Sammi and Fred's house ) and leave it in the yard. He said, "We can't do that." I offered a handsome tip. He said, "We can't take tips." I just looked at him with that 'the man don't gotta know' look. He was stone faced. I was grossly disappointed. It probably showed on my face. I'd totally suck at poker.

So they brought the bitch in and it was installation time. I checked very carefully in deciding where to buy the fuckin' thing if total installation was part of the delivery fee. By that I mean including water hook up for the beloved ice maker. I excitedly pointed out that there was a water source right there a mere four feet away! "Nope. We don't do that. Get a plumber, or if you want to do it yourself, I'm sure Home Depot can give you the supplies." (which, of course, weren't included.) "Installation" it turns out means putting the handles on, plugging it in, and ciao. I had to do the leveling and removal of all the tape and such and deal with the water hook up myself. I wasn't happy. Sammi and Fred could see that. They were very solicitous. Especially Fred.

Fred hauled the old fridge over to their house himself.

He and I went to the hardware store and got the requisite stuff for the water hook up. Despite his 10,000 offers/requests to help, I said I wanted/needed to do it myself. Which I did. Go me!

Eventually The LO came home from wherever he'd gone (to avoid the event) after I'd hooked the water up and such.

Then the microwave cart didn't fit where it used to live. Three inches too wide. So off to K-Mart I went and got a kit to build a new something that would. That's what I did yesterday.

This morning it's been yardwork until my skin felt on fire. I'm on certain meds for psoriasis that make me extra sensitive to UV. Yet another story.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

new | last | next | archive | profile | cast
email | guestbook | notes | host | rings

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have any comments you'd like to share?
[So far 0 smart ass remarks have been made.]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

encroaching increase of darkness - 2008-11-02

Bones - 2008-09-20

random bitchings and musings - 2008-07-09

Man with Huge Cock - 2008-07-04

Eric and other crazy shit - 2008-06-29

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thinkin' 'bout:

Dog(s) keeping me company:

Current read: