2004-04-16
5:57 p.m.

St. Louis - 1

Here I sit in the lounge of my hotel in St. Louis, enjoying free wireless internet access. Up in my room it's free too, but tethered by an ethernet cable. Still, free is free. Bummer that I can't send email, though. I can receive, just not send.

My room also has a view of the Arch. The WHOLE Arch, as in it's being across the street. Pretty neat.

Wednesday morning I went to tanning and ran some errands, then off to the airport. I had to change planes in Cincinnati, where my flight was delayed an hour. In compensation there was a child on the plane who screamed the entire way. I didn't make it to the hotel until about 7, I'd arranged with Mike to come at 8. That gave me an hour to unpack, decompress, and get cleaned up.

I called him to give my room number and asked to put off till 8:30. He sounded kind of dazed and disinterested, which put me off a bit, but a deal was a deal I thought. I had a headache, I was exhausted, it wasn't going to be all that I had looked forward to. I unpacked, gave myself a rinse before showering for just in case, got ice, poured me a vodka (Stoli Raz), got the internet hook up hooked up, propped my feet up on the desk cruising through itunes to find something, anything, that might get me at all in the mood. I started up Patti Smith Group "Because the Night" for historical reasons. Last year at this conference, when I brought JWB, the first night when we got there, we unpacked and hightailed it to the bar. We were half-way through our first martinis when this song came on. I started singing, he'd never heard of the Patti Smith Group. I told him, he started singing along too, then before you knew it we'd abandoned our drinks and were back up in the room making love.

Two minutes later, just as I was getting into the song, at 8:29 came a rap on the door. It was Mike.

OMFG

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

new | last | next | archive | profile | cast
email | guestbook | notes | host | rings

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have any comments you'd like to share?
[So far 0 smart ass remarks have been made.]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

encroaching increase of darkness - 2008-11-02

Bones - 2008-09-20

random bitchings and musings - 2008-07-09

Man with Huge Cock - 2008-07-04

Eric and other crazy shit - 2008-06-29

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thinkin' 'bout: Sam Adams

Dog(s) keeping me company: need a nap

Current read: 50